The 4 points of the Compass.

When we normally talk of the 4 points of the compass, we think of them as North, South, East and West. This desciption is known as the "Cross of Matter", and is particularly associated with our existance in earthly conditions.

However, if we are to follow the natural path of the Sun during one day, it rises at Dawn in the East; travels South, and sets in the West. At night it passes the Northern point, and rises again in the East the following day (see diagram above).

The 4 points of the compass therefore represent the 4 major aspects of the day: -

Dawn, Midday, Dusk and Midnight.

And these same 4 points - when related to the horoscope - represent 4 important aspects of the personality.

They are known as:-

The Ascendant = The "first impression" we give to others.

The M/C = Our Ego or "self image"

Descendant = Our relationships in a closer sense

The I/C = The most vulnerable part of ourselves.

(M/C is short for Midhaven and I/C is short for Imum Coeli - The highest and lowest points - which may be interesting or utterly boring!)

Click here for more detailed descriptions of these 4 points as they relate to the horoscope.

Home Page : Astrol.index

Solar system
Ascending Sign
Zodiac Signs
MC Mask

All writings © J.Shell 1981 - 2005 (unless otherwise stated). All rights reserved.